Season In Review

ImageMy time in Barcelona is coming to a sad end, so I thought I’d give a season review as the Eagles season is also about to come to a sad end. But for me I’m sad to leave, for the Eagles the season was simply sad, but regardless of that, it’s always tough to see the end of the NFL season approaching its close, knowing you have a long off-season to wait until to can watch your favorite team again and experience that passion and excitement. Hearing the first MNF or NFL Live tune at the beginning of the NFL season is one of the greatest sounds on this earth.

ImageI don’t expect the Eagles to finish the year with more than 6 wins. I never could have imagined this. There were a lot of hidden problems with this team, and I think the Eagles were finally starting to realize them in firing multiple assistant coaches, and making some player personnel changes as well. The offense was inconsistent all year, which can be partly attributed to the terrible and injury ridden offensive line. But still, no one truly stepped up on O. Of course injuries played a huge part in this. Right now the list of starts hurt is endless: DeSean Jackson, LeSean McCoy, Micheal Vick, Brent Celek, Jason Peters, Jason Kelce, Todd Herremans. How can a team really expect to reach its potential when that happens. I’m looking forwards to what the O can do with a fully healthy O-line, just a shame their coach Howard Mudd is retiring.

ImageBut defensively it was an embarassment. The addition of Kenricks and Ryans were finally supposed to provide just what the D needed. And to be honest they played very well all year, especially Ryans, and his role as a leader cannot be underestimated. Otherwise the wide-9 was a failure, and Washburn apparently even undermined Castillo’s authority as defensive coordinator. The D-line was in the debate as the best in the league entering the season. Now Jason Babin and the D-line coach are gone. The secondary was pretty awful as well. Way too many breakdowns there.

ImageLooking back to my About me section, I really couldn’t have predicted this season much better. I got my hopes up as always, and was again let down, this time in a big, big way. But this catch from Jason Avant was pretty f-ing awesome.

This entry was posted in Eagles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment